Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine

Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine

Online ISBN: 9783527600908

DOI: 10.1002/3527600906

Editor(s): Dr. Robert A. Meyers

Editors & Contributors

Dr. Robert A. Meyers

Editorial Board

Neurobiology and Translational Neuromedicine
Professor Bing Zhang, University of Missouri, USA

Cancer Detection and Treatment
Professor Leo Cheng, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

The Editorial Advisory Board

Professor Werner Arber ,   University of Basel, Switzerland.
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine for the discovery of restriction enzymes and their application to problems of molecular genetics.

Professor David Baltimore, California Institute of Technology.
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine in 1975 with Renato Dulbecco and Howard Martin, 'for their discoveries concerning the interaction between tumor viruses and the genetic material of the cell.'

Professor Günter Blobel, The Rockerfeller University.
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine for his discovery that proteins have intrinsic signals that govern their transport and localization in the cell.

Professor Sir Martin Evans, Cardiff University, UK.
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine, for a series of ground-breaking discoveries concerning embryonic stem cells and DNA recombination in mammals.

Professor Paul Greengard, The Rockerfeller University.
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine jointly with Arvid Carlsson and Eric R. Kandel for their discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system.

Professor Avram Hershko, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, jointly with Professor Aaron Ciechanover and Irwin Rose for their discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation.

Professor Dr. Robert Huber, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany. Nobel Prize in Chemistry, together with Johann Deisenhofer and Hartmut Michel for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre.

Sir Aaron Klug, Medical research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK. Awarded Nobel Proze in chemistry for his development of crystallographic electron microscopy and his structural elucidation of biologically important nucleic acid-protein complexes.

Professor Stanley B. Prusiner, University of California, San Francisco. Awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology/Medicine for his discovery of prions.

Professor Bengt I. Samuelsson, The Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden. Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine together with Sune K. Bergström and John R. Vane, for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances.

Professor Phillip A. Sharp, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Massachuesetts Institute of Technology. Shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine with Richard J. Roberts, as a result of their discoveries of split genes, a finding that fundamentally changed the understanding of the structure of genes.

Professor Alexander J. Varshavsky, California Institute of Technology. Lasker Award in Basic Medical Research, with A. Hershko ond A Ciechanover as a result of their research into the ubiquitin system.

Professor Akiyoshi Wada, RIKEN Institute, Yokohama, Japan.

Professor Shigeyuki Yokoyama, RIKEN Institute, Yokohama, Japan.

Professor Dr. med. Rolf M. Zinkernagel, University of Zürich, Switzerland. Nobel proize for Physiology/Medicine, together with Peter Doherty, for research on the biomechanical mechanism with which the immune system recognizes and destroys virus-infected cells.