Heterogeneous Catalysts for Clean Technology: Spectroscopy, Design, and Monitoring

Heterogeneous Catalysts for Clean Technology: Spectroscopy, Design, and Monitoring

Editor(s): Karen Wilson, Adam F. Lee

Print ISBN: 9783527332137

Online ISBN: 9783527658985

DOI: 10.1002/9783527658985

Author Biography

About the Author

Karen Wilson graduated in1992 from the University of Cambridge with a BA in Natural Sciences, and obtained an MSc with distinction in heterogeneous catalysis in 1993 from the University of Liverpool. She returned to Cambridge (1993-98) where she undertook both PhD and post-doctoral research in heterogeneous catalysis and surface science with Prof. Richard Lambert. In 1998 she moved to the University of York, to pursue post-doctoral research on the development of new mesoporous solid acids for clean technologies with Prof. James Clark, and was subsequently appointed to a lectureship at York in 1999. Dr Wilson was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2007, prior to her appointment in 2009 as a Reader in Physical Chemistry at Cardiff University. She is currently a Royal Society Industry Fellow working with Johnson Matthey. Her research interests lie in the design of heterogeneous catalysts for clean chemical synthesis, particularly the design of tuneable porous materials for sustainable biofuels and chemicals production.

Adam F. Lee obtained a BA in Natural Sciences and a PhD in surface science and catalysis from the University of Cambridge, and was appointed a Lecturer in Physical Chemistry at the University of Hull in 1997. After moving to the University of York and promotion to Senior Lecturer, he was appointed Professor of Physical Chemistry at Cardiff University in 2009, where he is a senior member of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute and also holds an EPSRC Leadership Fellowship. His research spans heterogeneous catalysis, nanoporous solids, green chemistry and synchrotron science, in which he has authored over 130 articles. Professor Lee was awarded the 2000 CR Burch Prize by the British Vacuum Council, the 2004 Fonda-Fasella Prize of the Elettra synchrotron, the 2011 McBain Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Society of Chemical Industry, and 2012 Beilby Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, IOM3 and Society of Chemical Industry for outstanding contributions in the field of heterogeneous catalysis and surface science.