Magnetospheric Substorms

Magnetospheric Substorms

Editor(s): Joseph R. Kan, Thomas A. Potemra, Susumu Kokubun, Takesi Iijima

Published Online: 20 MAR 2013

Print ISBN: 9780875900308

Online ISBN: 9781118663981

DOI: 10.1029/GM064

About this Book

Published by the American Geophysical Union as part of the Geophysical Monograph Series, Volume 64.

This volume on Magnetospheric Substorms is a compilation of papers invited and contributed to the Chapman Conference on Magnetospheric Substorms held September 3-7, 1990, in Hakone, Japan. The Conference was attended by 149 researchers from 13 countries: Japan, the United States, the U.S.S.R., the United Kingdom, China, Sweden, Norway, Netherlands, France, Finland, Gennany, Denmark, and Canada.
Each chapter is organized with an intentional mixture of observational and theoretical papers on similar topics to emphasize the importance of the observation-simulation-theory closure. Of equal importance is the global connection in substorm research. In the past, substorm research has focused on understanding the substorm signatures in the inosphere and in the plasma sheet separately. Future progress may well depend on paying greater attention to the global connection between the ionosphere and the plasma sheet.

Table of contents

    1. You have free access to this content
    2. Tail Current Disruption in the Geosynchronous Region (pages 131–137)

      S. Ohtani, K. Takahashi, L. J. Zanetti, T. A. Potemra, R. W. McEntire and T. Iijima

    3. Role of the Near Earth Plasmasheet at Substorms (pages 201–214)

      A. Roux, S. Perraut, A. Morane, P. Robert, A. Korth, G. Kremser, A. Pederson, R. Pellinen and Z.Y. Pu

    4. Aurora and Energetic Particle Signatures During a Substorm with Multiple Expansions (pages 285–294)

      Rumi Nakamura, Takasi Oguti, Tatsundo Yamamoto, Susumu Kokubun, Daniel N. Baker and Richard D. Belian

    5. Auroral Signatures of Substorm Recovery Phase: A Case Study (pages 333–341)

      T. I. Pulkkinen, R. J. Pellinen, H. E. J. Koskinen, H. J. Opgenoorth, J. S. Murphree, V. Petrov, A. Zaitzev and E. Friis-Christensen