• Anonymous


The Geological Society of America's (GSA) new class of medal and award recipients and fellows includes many AGU members. Medal and award recipients are Stephen G. Pollock, University of Southern Maine: GSA Distinguished Service Award; John R. Wheaton, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology: John C. Frye Award; Clifford A. Jacobs, National Science Foundation (NSF): Outstanding Contributions Award, Geoinformatics Division; Peter Bird, University of California, Los Angeles (emeritus): George P. Woollard Award, Geophysics Division; Chunmiao Zheng, University of Alabama: O. E. Meinzer Award, Hydrogeology Division; Gerhard Wörner, Georg August Universität Göttingen: Distinguished Geologic Career Award, Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology Division; Alan D. Howard, University of Virginia: G. K. Gilbert Award, Planetary Geology Division; Michael E. Perkins, University of Utah: Kirk Bryan Award for Research Excellence, Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology Division; and Peter J. Hudleston, University of Minnesota: Career Contribution Award, Structural Geology and Tectonics Division.