Akuginow and Haines-Stiles Receive 2013 Robert C. Cowen Journalism Award: Citation

Filmmakers Erna Akuginow and Geoffrey Haines-Stiles received the Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism at the AGU Fall Meeting Honors Ceremony, held on 11 December 2013 in San Francisco, Calif. Akuginow and Haines-Stiles were honored for more than 30 years of pioneering documentary films and television series that explore Earth and space sciences with remarkable breadth and depth and astute perception of what's new, important, and fascinating in science. Early on, Haines-Stiles served as a senior producer of Carl Sagan's 1980 Cosmos series, and Akuginow served as an associate producer on another Sagan series about the nuclear arms race, intended as a sequel to Cosmos. Since then, the duo has collaborated on numerous exceptional films and television shows, ranging from tales of space missions to Mars and Pluto to coverage of polar research, including Live from Antarctica, the first interactive broadcast from the South Pole, to the 2012 PBS series on climate science and sustainable energy sources Earth: The Operators' Manual. The award also recognizes Akuginow and Haines-Stiles for contributing to excellence in science communication through extraordinary opportunities they created for scientists and general audiences to share knowledge and excitement about science in events the filmmakers organized in museums or other venues and on social media.



From Cosmos to Mars and Pluto and back home, Geoffrey Haines-Stiles and Erna Akuginow have invested their careers reporting the best modern science in novel, compelling, and accessible ways through documentaries, live events, print, and new media. They are outstanding recipients of the AGU Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism.