Standard Article

Pachelbel, Johann (1653–1706)

  1. George Thomas Kurian

Published Online: 25 NOV 2011

DOI: 10.1002/9780470670606.wbecc1029

The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization

How to Cite

Kurian, G. T. 2011. Pachelbel, Johann (1653–1706). The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization. .

Publication History

  1. Published Online: 25 NOV 2011


German Baroque organist-composer. A Protestant by birth and training, he nevertheless assimilated Roman Catholic traditions. As a church musician he served at the Lutheran churches at Erfurt (from 1678 to 1690) and in Nuremberg (from 1695 until death). The majority of his organ works were composed for the Lutheran liturgy. They include 70 choral preludes for Erfurt and 95 fugues for use in the Magnificat at Nuremberg. The choral preludes are of various types while the fugues are short movements that alternate with sung verses of the Magnificat. Pachelbel was responsible for establishing the technical and tonal qualities of the fugue. His nonliturgical organ music consists of toccatas, preludes, fantasias, and chorale variations for use in church settings.


  • Pachelbel, Johann (1653–1706);
  • German baroque organist-composer;
  • organ works, composed for lutheran liturgy;
  • jauchzet dem herrn, alle welt and kommt her zu mir