William Faulkner (1897–1962)

  1. Christopher MacGowan

Published Online: 24 FEB 2012

DOI: 10.1002/9781444393675.ch16

The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook

The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook

How to Cite

MacGowan, C. (2011) William Faulkner (1897–1962), in The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook, Wiley-Blackwell, Oxford, UK. doi: 10.1002/9781444393675.ch16

Publication History

  1. Published Online: 24 FEB 2012
  2. Published Print: 21 JAN 2011

ISBN Information

Print ISBN: 9781405160230

Online ISBN: 9781444393675



  • William Faulkner (1897–1962), inventing a richly detailed world - Yoknapatawpha County, within his major fiction;
  • Faulkner, dedicating his late trilogy - The Hamlet (1940), The Town (1957) and The Mansion (1959);
  • Faulkner, enlisting in Canadian division of the British Royal Air Force - too late to see active service;
  • back at Oxford after the war, Faulkner enrolling in classes - at the University of Mississippi, appearing in campus publications;
  • The Marble Faun, volume of poems - borrowing its title from Hawthorne's 1860 novel;
  • Mosquitoes, his second novel - published by Boni and Liveright in 1927;
  • Faulkner's account, and difficulties he encountered - in getting Sartoris published, writing only for himself, giving little thought to publisher's opinion;
  • The Sound and the Fury, published by a new firm - co-founded by Harrison Smith, Faulkner's editor at Harcourt;
  • Sanctuary, gaining attention - intended by its sensational rape plot, attention not always favorable;
  • Faulkner, shocking readers with his story - of Barnstorming Fliers, Pylon (1935), novel set in New Orleans, than in Yoknapatawpha County


This chapter contains sections titled:

  • Bibliography