Saul Bellow (1915–2005)

  1. Christopher MacGowan

Published Online: 24 FEB 2012

DOI: 10.1002/9781444393675.ch24

The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook

The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook

How to Cite

MacGowan, C. (2011) Saul Bellow (1915–2005), in The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook, Wiley-Blackwell, Oxford, UK. doi: 10.1002/9781444393675.ch24

Publication History

  1. Published Online: 24 FEB 2012
  2. Published Print: 21 JAN 2011

ISBN Information

Print ISBN: 9781405160230

Online ISBN: 9781444393675



  • Saul Bellow (1915–2005) - born Solomon Bellow in Lachine, Quebec;
  • Saul Bellow's parents - of Orthodox Jewish background;
  • Bellow's first novel, Dangling Man - published in 1944;
  • The Victim (1947), Bellow's next novel - effect upon Asa Leventhal of accusations by Kirby Allbee - that Leventhal's thoughtless actions cost Allbee his job and marriage;
  • The Adventures of Augie March (1953) - winning for Bellow, his first National Book Award;
  • Henderson the Rain King (1959) - the novel, from which Bellow himself dated his maturity;
  • Mosby's Memoirs (1968) - a book of short stories;
  • Sammler's critical views of women, his racist stereotypes - general condemnation of youth culture in the novel, Bellow's views, as subject of critical debate;
  • Bellow, awarded the Nobel Prize - publishing To Jerusalem and Back: A Personal Account;
  • More Die of Heartbreak (1987) - and Bellow's third collection of stories, Him with His Foot in His Mouth and Other Stories (1984)


This chapter contains sections titled:

  • Bibliography