Testicular structure in Salmoniformes, Perciformes, Cypriniformes, and Atheriniformes has been examined and reinterpreted on the basis of two different tubular types, distinguished from each other by the intratubular distribution of spermatogonia. In the salmoniform, perciform, and cypriniform teleosts studied, spermatogonia are distributed along the entire length of the testicular tubules. However, in the atheriniform teleosts spermatogonia are restricted to the distal end of the tubule. Sperm development in teleosts is cystic, cysts being comprised of Sertoli-cell processes. In both testicular types described, Sertoli cells phagocytize spermatid residual bodies. Together witb the germ cells, they comprise the only intratubular cell types within the teleostean testis.

Boundary cells are located immediately outside of the tubule basement membrane. They do not form a complete layer over the tubule surface; therefore, interstitial Leydig cells and blood vessels may border directly upon the tubular basement membrane.