Organometallic Chemistry under Hydro(solvo)thermal conditions: Synthesis and X-ray structure of (Ph4P)2[Mn3(CO)9(S2)2(SH)], (Ph4P)[Mn2(CO)6(SH)3], and (Ph4P)2[Mn4(CO)13(Te2)3]


  • This work was supported by the U. S. National Science Foundation and Department of Energy Through the EPSCoR Programs (OSR-9452893 and DEFC02-91ER75674). We thank Dr. Charles F. Campana of Siemesns Analytical X-ray Instruments. Madison, WI (USA) for collecting the low-temperature X-ray diffraction data for 2.


original image

Different but so alike are the structure of the clusters (Ph4P)2[Mn3(CO)9(S2)2(SH)] and (Ph4P)2[Mn4(CO)13(Te2)3] (E [DOUBLE BOND] S or Te; structure of the anions depicted below), which form in the reaction of [Mn2(CO)10], Na2E2, Ph4PBR, and ethanol in a sealed tube at 85°C. The fundamental difference lies in the substitution of a hydrochalcogen by a dichalcogen in the Te compound and the concomittant extension of the cluster framework by a Mn(CO)4 fragment.