International Society For Autism Research News


INSAR is your organization and we want every member to get involved and feel part of the mission to advance autism research globally. I thought it might be helpful, in this issue's Society page, to outline the structure of the INSAR Board and Committees: we welcome suggestions and offers of expertise from all the membership.

The Board of INSAR is comprised of five elected officers: President, Vice-President, President-Elect, Treasurer and Secretary, accompanied by the Past-President, Past-Treasurer and the Journal Editor. Every two years, a new Vice-President, Treasurer and Secretary are elected, and the following year a new President-Elect is elected to the board. Continuity is maintained by the Past-President and Past-Treasurer remaining on the board for two years beyond their initial term.

We have a large number of committees, which we have recently grouped into themes, each with a key board liaison person:

The Awards Committee makes recommendations to the INSAR Board for all annual awards, and reviews all travel award applications.

The Community Advisory Committee advises the Board of Directors on strategies to insure that INSAR meetings address the needs of all stakeholders.

The Cultural Diversity Committee provides a forum for professional development, information sharing, and collaborative activities among members interested in racial, ethnic, cultural and socioeconomic diversity.

The Finance Committee offers advice on INSAR's resources and provides ethical and legal oversight of finances.

The Membership Committee reviews all member applications and determines appropriate categories of membership.

The Nominations and Elections Committee manages the nomination and election process of the Board of Directors every two years.

The Public Relations Committee works with a public relations firm to secure media coverage of INSAR's activities, including the scientific discoveries presented at IMFAR.

The Special Interest Group (SIG) Committee organizes the Special Interest Group sessions at the annual IMFAR meeting and related events throughout the year.

The Student Committee organize activities that promote career development for early-stage autism researchers.

Annually the Board invites a local INSAR member to serve as Meeting Chair of the annual IMFAR event. The Meeting chair, forms an IMFAR Meeting Committee that with our professional meeting planner on IMFAR logistics and develops a local community pre-conference.

The Board also invites two INSAR members to serve as Scientific Program Co-Chairs who, with their choice of IMFAR Program Committee, invite keynote speakers, arrange review of abstracts, and organize the scientific program for the annual IMFAR meeting.

For IMFAR 2014 in Atlanta, our Meeting Chair is Ami Klin and our Scientific Program Chairs are Laura Grofer Klinger and Joseph Piven. I'm delighted to announce that for IMFAR 2015 in Salt Lake City, our Meeting Chair is William McMahon and our Scientific Program Chairs are Sally Ozonoff and Jaqueline Crawley. Finally, for IMFAR 2016 in Baltimore, I'm very pleased that Rebecca Landa has agreed to be Meeting Chair, and Daniele Fallin and Stewart Mostofsky will be Scientific Program Chairs.

I look forward to seeing you in Atlanta for IMFAR 2014!