Get access

One Hundred Years of Light Quanta (Nobel Lecture)


  • Copyright© The Nobel Foundatiom 2005. We thank the Nobel Foundation, Stockholm, for permission to print this lecture.—The Nobel lecture of T. W. Hänsch has appeared in ChemPhysChem, 2006, 7, 1170.


original image

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005 falls in the realm of light (see picture; a) classical and b) quantum physics observation of light), and it is awarded to three scientists: Roy Glauber, John Hall and Theodor Hänsch. Roy Glauber succeeded in describing a general method for observing photons. He formulated a theory that gives optics a quantum-mechanical basis.

Get access to the full text of this article