Stanford R. Ovshinsky Prize for Excellence in Amorphous Chalcogenides



The short history of the Ovshinsky Prize conferred for Excellence in Amorphous Chalcogenides is presented.

In the first part of the year 2001 I had discussions with Prof. Radu Grigorovici and Stanford R. Ovshinsky in order to create an Award for Excellence in Amorphous Semiconductors. Stan promised to support partially the Award, to become later a Prize in the field of chalcogenides.

The first Award in the chalcogenide field of research was conferred during the first International Workshop on Amorphous and Nanostructured Chalcogenides (ANC-1) held in Bucharest in June 2001. At this workshop Prof. Radu Grigorovici handed the diploma of the Award to the first winners: Profs. Keiji Tanaka and Stephen R. Elliott.

Starting from 2005 the Award has been transformed into a Prize; the amount of this Prize increased stepwise from 500 USD (2005) to 2000 USD in 2009 and 2010.

The Ovshinsky Prize honours a bunch of highest best specialists in the field of amorphous chalcogenides in both science and technology.

In 2009 we have been honoured with the presence of Stanford Ovshinsky at the 4th edition of the Workshop of Amorphous Chalcogenides (ANC-4), which became the International Conference on Chalcogenides. At that time Stan received the title of Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Constanta (Romania) where the ANC-4 was held.

The Internet address of the Prize can be found on the Forum of Chalcogeniders:

The list of the winners of the Ovshinsky Prize is given in Table 1.

Table 1. List of Ovshinsky Prize winners.
2001Prof. Stephen R. Elliott,inline image
University of Cambridge, UK
For contributions to understanding reversible photoinduced phenomena and discovery of the photomechanical effect in chalcogenide glasses.
Prof. Keiji Tanaka,inline image
Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan
For the discovery of photoinduced fluidity in chalcogenides.
2002Prof. Victor Lyubin,inline image
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
For discovery and investigation of photoinduced vectorial effects in chalcogenide glasses.
Dr. Alexander Kolobov,inline image
National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Tsukuba, Japan
For using advanced experimental techniques in trying to answer fundamental questions concerning electronic structure and photoinduced structural changes in chalcogenide glasses in general, and in selenium in particular, and for the discovery of the nanometer-scale mechanism of reversible photostructural changes in amorphous chalcogenides.
2003Prof. Punit Boolchand,inline image
University of Cincinnati, USA
For the discovery of intermediate phase in chalcogenide glasses.
Prof. Koichi Shimakawa,inline image
Gifu University, Japan
For studies of photoinduced phenomena in chalcogenide glasses.
2004Prof. Hellmut Fritzsche,inline image
James Franck Institute, Chicago University, USA
For explaining why chalcogenides are ideal materials for Ovshinsky's Ovonic threshold and memory devices and for an improved theory of switching.
Prof. Mihai Popescu,inline image
National Institute of Materials Physics, Bucharest, Romania
For structural modelling studies of amorphous chalcogenides.
2005Prof. Andrei Andries,inline image
Academy of Sciences of Moldova, Chisinau, Moldova
For contributions to optoelectronics, optical recording of information, non-linear optics, and optical fibers based on chalcogenides.
2006Prof. Dr. Miloslav Frumar,inline image
University of Pardubice, Czech Republic
For developing important studies of non-volatile, multi-level phase-change memories.
2007Prof. Matthias Wuttig,inline image
I. Physikalisches Institut der RWTH Aachen, Germany
For contributions in the field of phase-change materials and applications.
2008Prof. Annie Pradel,inline image
University of Montpellier II, France
For creating new equipment: a co-evaporator that helped to produce high-quality ternary telluride layers and developing waveguides able to transmit light in the infrared up to 20 µm.
2009Prof. Matthieu Micoulaut,inline image
Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France
For improvement of ab initio modelling of chalcogenides and for developing models of rigidity for phase-change materials leading to the rigidity phase diagram in GST materials. This work should open a new perspective enabling the study of phase-change materials in much the same fashion as network glasses.
2010Prof. Noboru Yamada,inline image
General Manager, Digital and Network Development Centre, Panasonic Corporation, Japan
For discovery of the rapid reversible phase-change phenomenon between amorphous and metastable cubic phases of GeTe–Sb2Te3 pseudo-binary alloys and for developing phase-change optical disks including new technologies for material compositions and device structures.

The next prestigious Prize will be awarded in 2013 during the 6th edition of the International Conference on Amorphous and Nanostructured Chalcogenides (ANC-6).