Solomon to receive 1999 National Medal of Science


  • Shermonta L. Grant


Last month, The White House named AGU Fellow Susan Solomon as one of 12 recipients of the 1999 National Medal of Science, the highest science honor in the nation. Established by Congress and managed by the National Science Foundation, the award recognizes individuals for contributions to the current state of knowledge across a broad spectrum of science frontiers.

We honor these exceptional U.S. scientists and engineers for their achievements, contributions, and innovations that have sustained U.S. leadership across the frontiers of scientific and technological knowledge, thereby enhancing our ability to shape and improve our nations future, said President Clinton.