The 2002 Horton (Hydrology) Research Grant Committee selected three recipients this year—David F. Boutt, Ruben IJpelaar and Brett L. Valle. The research grant, which is separate from the Horton Award, supports research projects in hydrology and water resources by doctoral candidates at institutions of higher learning. The grant's objective is to foster graduate student research leading to the completion of doctoral dissertations. All three recipients will be formally awarded at the upcoming AGU 2002 Fall Meeting in San Francisco, California.