Hildreth receives Thorarinsson Medal


  • Anonymous


Edward Wesley (Wes) Hildreth, research geologist at the U.S. Geological Survey received the Thorarinsson Medal at the International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior (IAVCEI) 2004 General Assembly at Pucon, Chile, in November 2004.

The triennial Thorarinsson Medal honors the memory of Sigurdur Thorarinsson (1912–1983) of Iceland, and his pioneering work in volcanology, especially tephrochronology. The medal is the highest award given by IAVCEI for outstanding contributions to the general field of volcanology.