Petroleum geologists' award to novelist Crichton is inappropriate



The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) announced in February that the group had given novelist Michael Crichton its 2006 Journalism Award for his novels Jurassic Park and State of Fear. AAPG states that the Journalism Award is intended to acknowledge those who have contributed to the public understanding of geology.

The Council of the American Quaternary Association (AMQUA),a professional organization of scientists who study the recent (Quaternary) period of geologic time in which mankind has flourished, feels it was inappropriate for AAPG to give a journalism award for State of Fear for two reasons. The novel is not journalism. Furthermore, it is fiction that presents a distorted view of global warming as a scientific hoax, and Crichton is using his prominence as a novelist and movie director to push his views into the scientific debate on global warming and its consequences.