Frost, Goldstein, and Korenaga awarded 2006 James B. Macelwane Medal



Daniel J. Frost, Jerry Goldstein, and Jun Korenaga received the James B. Macelwane Medal at the AGU Fall Meeting honors ceremony, which was held on 13 December 2006 in San Francisco, Calif. The medal is given for significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding young scientist.

Jerry Goldstein is one of the most exciting young researchers in space physics today, and his work has significantly advanced understanding of the Earth's magnetosphere. In particular, Jerry is widely recognized as the leading authority on the structure and dynamics of the Earth's plasmasphere, the region of cold plasma of ionospheric origin that is trapped in the inner portion of the magnetosphere.