Following the devastating Mw 7.4 İzmit earthquake on 17 August 1999, major state-of-the-art earthquake studies were conducted in the Marmara region of northwestern Turkey. However, other faults with the potential to generate big and potentially devastating earthquakes occur in a variety of different tectonic regimes in Turkey, and these faults and regions have not received similar attention.

For example, the East Anatolian Fault (EAF) is influenced by the convergence of the Arabian and Anatolian plates along the Zagros-Bitlis suture zone. Faults in the Aegean Extensional Province (AEP) are purely normal faults. The main faults in the Marmara region occur within both transtensional and transpressional domains (locations are shown in Figure I). All of these regions pose seismic hazards and also require focused study.