AGU Governance and Organization Systems: Membership Input Sought


  • Marvin Geller


The AGU Statutes and Bylaws Committee was asked to examine the present system of AGU governance and organization, and to make recommendations for changes, if any seem warranted. Given the importance of this issue, the Statutes and Bylaws Committee feels it is important to involve the Union membership in this discussion through this article and perhaps by the expression of various views in future issues of Eos.

Before proceeding to the issues, the Committee thought the following general introduction to AGU organization and governance should be presented because many members, even in some cases those elected to Council, are not aware of the present AGU organization and governance. The activities of AGU are governed by an elected Council comprising six Union officers, 11 section presidents, and 11 section presidents-elect (for details, see