Rypina Receives 2008 Donald L. Turcotte Award


  • Anonymous


Irina Rypina has been awarded the Donald L. Turcotte Award, given annually to recent Ph.D. recipients for outstanding dissertation research that contributes directly to the field of non linear geophysics. Rypina's thesis is entitled “Lagrangian coherent structures and transport in two-dimensional incompressible flows with oceano graphic and atmospheric applications.” She will be formally presented with the award at the Nonlinear Geophysics Focus Group Reception during the 2008 AGU Fall Meeting, which will be held 15–19 December in San Francisco, Calif.