Opportunity to Nominate Candidates for the William Kaula Award


  • Francis Albarède


The William Kaula award recognizes unselfish service to the scientific community through extraordinary dedication to, and exceptional efforts on behalf of, AGU's publications program. Individuals may be recognized for such contributions as outstanding reviewing, editorial service beyond expectations, and innovative leadership. It is fitting that the award is named in honor of William Kaula, who gave unstintingly of his talents and energies to AGU publications. He served as editor of Reviews of Geophysics and Journal of Geophysical Research—Solid Earth, led the development of a number of policies and practices during his service on the Publications Committee, was a mentor to other scientists serving as journal associate editors and editors, and always pressed for higher standards for AGU journals.

In even-numbered years, the Publications Committee selects a recipient, who will be recognized at one of the Editors' Evenings and through Eos. Past recipients include Alex Dessler, Marcia Neugebauer, William Hinze, and Karl Turekian.