• Alekseev, E., K. Hong, D. Pavlidis, D. Sawdai, and A. Samelis (1996), InGaAs/InP PIN diodes for microwave and millimeter-wave switching and limiting applications, in Proceedings of International Semiconductor Device Research Symposium, IEEE Press, Piscataway, N. J.
  • Alekseev, E., D. Pavlidis, and C. Delong (1997), InGaAs PIN diodes for high-isolation W-band monolithic integrated switching applications, in Proceedings of Conference on Advanced Concepts in High Speed Semiconductor Devices and Circuits, IEEE Press, Piscataway, N. J.
  • Bird, T. S. (2006), Terahertz radio systems: The next frontiers? paper presented at Workshop on Application of Radio Science, CSIRO, Leura, New South Wales, Australia. 15 – 17 Feb. (Available at
  • Chao, Y. C., F. H. Cho, F. L. Yea, P. P. Ru, and L. P. Ci (2004), Magnetically tunable room-temperature 2pi liquid crystal terahertz phase shifter, Opt. Express, 12, 26252630, doi:10.1364/OPEX.12.002625.
  • Kiani, G. I., K. L. Ford, K. P. Esselle, and A. R. Weily (2007), Oblique incidence performance of an active square loop frequency selective surface, paper presented at 2nd, European Conference on Antennas and Propagation, Eur. Space Agency, Edinburgh, U. K., 11 – 16 Nov.
  • Kiani, G. I., K. L. Ford, K. P. Esselle, A. R. Weily, C. J. Panagamuwa, and J. C. Batchelor (2008), Single-layer band pass active frequency selective surface, Microwave Opt. Technol. Lett., 50(8), 21492151, doi:10.1002/mop.23615.
  • Kiani, G. I., T. S. Bird, and K. L. Ford (2010a), 60 GHz ASK modulator using switchable FSS, paper presented at Antennas and Propagation Society International Symposium, Inst. of Electr. and Electron. Eng., Toronto, Ont., Canada, 11 – 17 July .
  • Kiani, G. I., K. L. Ford, L. Olsson, M. Nilsson, K. P. Esselle, and C. Panagamuwa (2010b), Switchable FSS for reconfigurable electromagnetic architecture of buildings, IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., 58(2), 581584.
  • Li, J. (2007), Terahertz modulator using photonic crystals, Opt. Commun., 269, 98101, doi:10.1016/j.optcom.2006.07.053.
  • Munk, B. A. (2000), Frequency Selective Surfaces: Theory and Design, Wiley, New York, doi:10.1002/0471723770.
  • Ostmann, K., T. M. Koch, G. Hein, K. Pien, and P. Dawson (2004), Electrically driven room temperature THz modulators, paper presented at Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics, Opt. Soc. of Am., San Francisco, Calif.
  • Paul, O., C. Imhof, B. Lgel, S. Wolff, J. Heinrich, S. Hfling, A. Forchel, R. Zengerle, R. Beigang, and M. Rahm (2009), Polarization-independent active metamaterial for high-frequency terahertz modulation, Opt. Express, 17, 819827, doi:10.1364/OE.17.000819.
  • Piesiewicz, R., M. N. Islam, M. Koch, and T. Kurner (2005), Towards short-range terahertz communication systems: Basic consideration, paper presented at 18th International Conference on Applied Electromagnetics and Communications, Inst. of Electr. and Electron. Eng., Dubrovnik, Croatia, 12 – 14 Oct.
  • Rogier, H., D. De Zutter, and F. Olyslager (2000), Rigorous analysis of frequency selective surfaces of finite extent using a hybrid finite difference time domain–boundary integral equation technique, Radio Sci., 35(2), 483494, doi:10.1029/1999RS001911.
  • Sanz-Izquierdo, B., E. A. Parker, J.-B. Robertson, and J. C. Batchelor (2009), Tuning technique for active FSS arrays, Electron. Lett., 45(22), 11071109, doi:10.1049/el.2009.2264.
  • Ziolkowski, R. W., and C. Y. Cheng (2004), Lumped element models of double negative metamaterial-based transmission lines, Radio Sci., 39, RS2017, doi:10.1029/2003RS002995.