Jarvis L. Moyers (1943–2011)



Jarvis L. Moyers, former director of the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences at the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) and long-term supporter and mentor for atmospheric scientists and, in particular, atmospheric chemists, passed away in Silver Spring, Md., on 22 June 2011. He had been a member of AGU for many years and, at the upcoming Fall Meeting, will be presented posthumously with the 2011 AGU Edward A. Flinn III Award for “unselfish cooperation in research through facilitating, coordinating, and implementing activities.” No one could be more deserving of such an award. His long and distinguished tenure at NSF began as a rotator in the Research Applied to National Needs program in 1976, and he returned to NSF permanently in 1983 as program director for Atmospheric Chemistry. Later he served as section head of the Lower Atmosphere Research section, head of the National Center for Atmospheric Research/Facilities section, director of the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, and acting assistant director for Geosciences at NSF. In 2006, he received the Presidential Distinguished Rank Award “for his outstanding leadership and exemplary record of achievement in service to the nation's science and engineering enterprise.”