• Anonymous


John Seinfeld is a recipient of the 2012 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement. Seinfeld, who is the Louis E. Nohl Professor and a professor of chemical engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, was cited for “his groundbreaking work leading to understanding of the origin, chemistry, and evolution of particles in the atmosphere. The fundamental understanding of the physics and chemistry of urban and regional air pollution that emerged from his research served as the basis for action to control the effects of air pollution on public health.” New members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences include Katharine Cashman, University of Oregon; Dennis Kent, Rutgers University and Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University; and Ignacio Rodríguez-Iturbe, Prince ton University.