Journal of Geophysical Research authors receive award



The authors of a paper published in AGU's Journal of Geophysical Research-Atmospheres have been selected by the executive council of the World Meteorological Organization as winners of the biennial Professor Dr. Vilho Väisälä Award for an Outstanding Research Paper. The 2010 paper, “Optimized fractional cloudiness determination from five ground-based remote sensing techniques” (R. Boers et al., J. Geophys. Res., 115, D24116, doi:10.1029/2010JD014661), was coauthored by H. K. Baltink, R. Boers, M. J. de Haij, M. Savenije, L. H. van Ulft, and W. M. F. Wauben of the Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (De Bilt, Netherlands) and by C. N. Long of the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy (Richland, Wash.). The award consists of a diploma and medal and an award of $10,000 shared by the winners.