IAHS awards International Hydrology Prize


  • Anonymous


The International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS) awarded its 1987 International Hydrology Prize to Vujica Yevjevich, preseritly Professor Emeritus at Colorado State University (Fort Collins). The award was announced at the IAHS General Assembly final plenary meeting in Vancouver, Canada, on August 21, 1987.

Because Yevjevich was unable to attend the Vancouver meeting, the prize —a beautiful silver medal— was presented to him at George Washington University, Washington, D.C., on September 11 by two IAHS representatives. Ivan Johnson (A. Ivan Johson, Inc., Arvada, Colo.), Honorary President of IAHS, and Marshall Moss (U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), Reston, Va.), Chairman of the U.S. National Committee for IAHS, personally handed the medal to Yevjevich. On behalf of the IAHS membership, they offered congratulations on the award and appreciation for Yevjevich's many contributions to the science of hydrology. (See photograph above).