1987 James B. Macelwane Medals


  • W. I. Axford,

  • Toshio Terasawa,

  • George A. Thompson,

  • Mary Lou Zoback


It is a very great pleasure for me to be able to introduce to you as one of this year's Macelwane Medal winners Toshio Terasawa from the Geophysical Institute of Kyoto University, Japan.

Terasawa is one of the rare scientists to receive a Macelwane Medal when not working in the United States. It is a tribute both to him and to the American Geophysical Union that this has transpired, since it emphasizes the fact that science, especially geophysics, is international in every sense and that the recognition of excellence should transcend national boundaries.