Ocean studies board has new chairman


  • Mary Hope Katsouros


John Sclater of the University of Texas at Austin has succeeded Walter Munk as chairman of the National Research Council's Ocean Studies Board. His term runs to June 30, 1991. The 17 members of OSB represent major disciplines in oceanography. The board advises the academic community and agencies of the federal government responsible for funding basic and applied research in oceanography and for maintaining the wellbeing of the oceans.