Abel Wolman, AGU Section of Hydrology member since 1948 and a Fellow, has been awarded at the age of 96 the “Health for All” medal of t h e World Health Organization. As a sanitary engineer since 1915 and Professor Emeritus at Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md., he is the first nonphysician to receive this WHO award

On November 9, during the 24th Annual Conference of the American Water Resources Association, in Milwaukee, Wis., the following awards were presented to AGU Section of Hydrology members: 5. W. Lohman, U.S. Geological Survey, retired, Denver, Colo. (Fellow and member since 1936), the Honorary Member Award in recognition of his eminence in water resource science and technology; Peter E. Black, College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse, N.Y. (member 1963), received the President's Award for Outstanding Service; receiving the William R. Boggess Award for the best paper were David R. Maidment (member 1874), and Douglas T. Shaw (member 1987), both of University of Texas, Austin; elected Fellows were Peter E. Black (member 1963) and Albert Rango (member 1969); t h e William C. Ackermann Medal for Excellence in Water Management was presented posthumously to William C. Ackermann, Champaign, III. (Fellow and member 1938), the award being accepted by Margaret Ackermann and family.