Candidates for Office, 1990–1992: Union Candidates: President-Elect


  • Anonymous


AGU member since 1957. Fellow since 1983. Prof, of Oceanography, Scripps Instit. of Oceanography, and 1989–90 Chair., Univ. of Calif., Academic Council. Broad involvement in ocean science and technology with recent concentration on deep sea floor environment. B.S. 1941 and Ph.D. 1951, Univ. of Calif., Berkeley; M.S. 1946, Harvard. Directed Univ. of Calif, marine research organizations, 1958–88. Fellow, Acoust. Soc. of America and Marine Tech. Soc.; member, AAAS, Phi Beta Kappa, Sigma Xi and others. Served on Ocean Sciences Board, Committee on Geodesy, NSF Advisory Committee on Ocean Science, Naval Research Advisory Committee, etc. Author or coauthor of over 100 publications. Honors include Franklin Inst. Wetherill Medal, AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, AGU/Navy Ewing Medal, ASA Pioneers of Underwater Acoustics Medal, Member National Academy of Engineering. AGU Ewing Medal committee, section fellows committee, History committee. Currently President-Elect of Ocean Sciences Section.