SCAS becomes unit of the University of Texas system


  • Anonymous


On September 1 the Southwest Center for Advanced Studies became a primary degree-granting unit of The University of Texas System. Joining the state University System after some seven years of operation on a private-support base, the basic research and graduate education center was designated The University of Texas at Dallas.

Acting President of UTD is Francis S. Johnson, who headed the SCAS' Atmospheric and Space Sciences Division from 1962 until the past summer. (Johnson is Vice-President of AGU's Section on Solar-Planetary Relationships.)