The Nordic IHD council


  • Arne Tollan


The cooperation of Denmark, Finlad, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden during the IHD has been one of the highlights of the many regional activities initiated by the program. These Nordic countries (Scandinavia is limited to Denmark, Norway, and Sweden) have a long, although not uninterrupted, history of cooperation, many strong ethical and cultural bonds, and no serious language barriers. Moreover, a natural basis for cooperation exists among the three northern mainland countries because of common river basins and physiographic and ecological regions.