In its eighth session the Coordinating Council of the International Hydrological Decade concentrated on completing the work of the Decade and on providing guidance for the organization of Unesco's post-Decade program in hydrology: the International Hydrological Program.

Dr. Mostafa Mozayeny of Iran was elected chairman of the Council for its final two years; Mr. E.L. Hendricks of the U.S.A., Dr. V.I. Korzoun of the U.S.S.R., Dr. Jacob Otnes of Norway, and Dr. J.O. Sonuga of Nigeria were elected vicechairmen. Dr. Mozayeny is the director of the Institute of Hydrosciences and Water Resources at Teheran University, Teheran, Iran.