Nominations for officers 1978–1980


  • Anonymous


The council of AGU has received and considered the report of the nominating committee comprised of Chairman William C. Ackermann, Randolph W. Bromery, Michael B. McElroy, and Charles Schubert and has considered the nominations proposed by the nominating committees of the various sections. Members of AGU are invited to submit additional nominees by petition in accord with the bylaws. Each petition must be signed by at least 1% of the voting members of the union or section, as the case may be, and such petitions must be received by the general secretary before the 30-day notification period has expired. Petitions will be honored if received by November 28, 1977. The number of names required to make a petition nomination is as follows: Union, 1195; Geodesy, 5; Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism, 75; Hydrology, 215; Meteorology, 105; Oceanography, 155; Planetology, 75; Seismology, 115; Solar-Planetary Relationships, 155; Tectonophysics, 95; and Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology, 12.