AGU Scholars


  • Anonymous


In recognition of the strong support of the American Geophysical Union and its substantial contribution to the American Geological Institute's Minority Scholarship Program, 11 of the 1980–1981 scholarship recipients were designated ‘AGU Scholars.’ Of this group, three were designated AGU ‘Sea Grants Scholars’ because they were funded through a matching grant from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Sea Grant Program, which is aimed at increasing the numbers of minority students studying in fields related to developing marine and coastal research.