On December 6, 1981, the AGU Council passed the initial approval of an amendment to Bylaw 8 (which establishes the sections of AGU) that would change the name of the Meteorology Section to the Atmospheric Sciences Section. This change was recommended by the Meteorology Section Executive Committee for three reasons: (1) there are more departments of atmospheric sciences today than there are departments of meteorology; (2) to draw some further distinction between what AGU does and what the American Meteorological Society does; and (3) to include more explicitly atmospheric chemistry and atmospheric electricity within the ambit of the Section. A survey of the Meteorology Section members indicated they were 50 to 1 in favor of the change.