Regional climate coordinating office


  • John L. Vogel


In September 1981, the National Climate Program Office (NCPO) funded the Regional Climate Coordinating Office (RCCO) at the Illinois State Water Survey and the Illinois Agricultural Experiment Station, both located at the University of Illinois. This is the first year of a proposed 4-year project developed under the aegis of the North Central Regional Research Committee, NC-94, sponsored by the agricultural experiment stations of the U.S. Department o f Agriculture. The NC-94 Committee, devoted to the characterization and assessment of climate on agriculture and other renewable resources, devised a plan to demonstrate the feasibility of coordinating state climate services in the 12-state north central region. The 12 states are Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. A key component of the initial structure of the plan is the RCCO.