Waldo E. Smith receives first award of his namesake medal


  • Waldo E. Smith


This evening marks the first presentation of the American Geophysical Union's Waldo E. Smith Award. While all other AGU awards and honors are given for excellence in scientific research in one or another of the geophysical disciplines, this award is different. The Waldo E. Smith Award is given for dedicated and extraordinary service to geophysics and AGU. It is the principal purpose of this citation to show why it is particularly appropriate that an award for service to American geophysics should be called the Waldo E. Smith Award. A secondary objective, aimed at those present tonight, is to introduce the first recipient of this award, Waldo E. Smith, Executive Director Emeritus of AGU.