Anne Burford, who resigned as administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in March 1983, has been appointed chairman of the National Advisory Committee on Oceans and Atmosphere (NACOA). Seven others have been appointed to the 18-member committee, which advises the president on ocean and atmosphere policy.

Burford succeeds John A. Knauss as NACOA chairman. Knauss, whose term of office on NACOA officially expired on July 1, had been on the committee for 6 years. Burford resigned from EPA following controversy over hazardous wastes.