Geomagnetism-Paleomagnetism Committee


  • Subir K. Banerjee


I n response to strong member concerns about the future of geomagnetism, Neil D. Opdyke, President of the Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism Section, has appointed an ad hoc Committee for the Future of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism consisting of Subir K. Banerjee (chair; University of Minnesota, Minneapolis), Joseph Cain (U.S. Geological Survey, Denver, Colo.) and Rob Van der Voo (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor). The committee seeks, from the membership at large, perceptions of future directions of research, help in identifying a few expanding research areas that show a promise of delivering significant results in the next 5 to 10 years, and guidance in generating a strategy to bring these about.