Eos, Transactions American Geophysical Union

Hydrogeologists honored for service



Joseph F. Poland and Stanley W. Lohman, retired U.S. Geological Survey hydrogeologists, were honored at the recent annual meeting of the Geological Society of America in Orlando, Fla., with the 1985 Award for Distinguished Service in Hydrology. The first award, in 1984, was given posthumously to George Burke Maxey. The award is based on “history of sustained creditable service to the hydrogeologic profession.” In August, Poland also received the American Water Resources Association's Honorary Member Award, which recognizes individuals with eminence in a branch of water resources science and technology.