AGU elects 1986 Fellows


  • Anonymous


Eighteen distinguished scientists have been elected Fellows of AGU. The total number of Fellows elected each year may not exceed 0.1% of the total membership at the time of election.

The newly elected Fellows are

  • John D. Bossier, Office of Charting and Geodetic Services, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Rockville, Md.
  • Ian S. Carmichael, Department of Geology and Geophysics, University of California, Berkeley.
  • Paul J. Crutzen, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz, Federal Republic of Germany.
  • Dieter H. Ehhalt, Institute of Atmospheric Chemistry, Jülich, and Department of Geophysics, University of Cologne, Cologne, Federal Republic of Germany.
  • Thomas C. Hanks, U.S. Geological Survey, Menlo Park, Calif.
  • C. G. A. Harrison, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami, Miami, Fla.
  • Stanley R. Hart, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
  • Charles W. Howe, Department of Economics, University of Colorado, Boulder.
  • Charlotte E. Keen, Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada.
  • T. J. Kukkamäki, Finnish Geodetic Institute, Helsinki.
  • Ronald T. Merrill, Geophysics Program, University of Washington, Seattle.
  • Pearn P. Niiler, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla, Calif.
  • Mervyn S. Paterson, Research School of Earth Sciences, Australian National University, Canberra.
  • Joseph Pedlosky, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.
  • W. R. Peltier, Department of Physics, University of Toronto , Toronto , Canada.
  • Raymond G. Roble, Solar Variability Section, High-Altitude Observatory, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colo.
  • David J. Stevenson, Division of Geological and Planetary Sciences, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.
  • David A. Woolhiser, Southwest Watershed Research Center, Tucson, Ariz.