1986 AGU medalists and awardees announced


  • Anonymous


The recipients of the 1986 Bowie, Ewing, and Horton Medals and the Smith and Macelwane Awards have been announced by AGU. These distinctive honors recognize AGU members who make significant contributions to geophysics.

The William Bowie Medal is awarded to James Dooge of University College, Dublin, Ireland, for outstanding contributions to fundamental geophysics and for unselfish cooperation in research. The Maurice Ewing Award will be presented to John Imbrie of Brown University, Providence, R.I. This honor is awarded for significant original contributions to understanding physical, geophysical, and geological processes in the ocean and/or outstanding service to marine sciences. The medal is presented jointly by the U.S. Navy and AGU.