Committee on Solar and Space Physics



The Space Science Board (SSB) of the National Research Council was established in 1958 (just before the establishment of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)) to provide policy advice to the space agency on the conduct of space science. The board discharges this function through several committees composed of working scientists in each area of space science who work closely with NASA personnel to develop plans for future space research. One such committee is the Committee on Solar and Space Physics (CSSP), whose purview ranges from the sun through the interplanetary medium and the magnetospheres, ionospheres, and upper atmospheres of the earth, the planets, and comets. I have had the privilege of serving as chairman of the CSSP from 1983 through 1986, and along with my 18 colleagues, I did my best to represent Solar and Space Physics and the concerns of the community to our colleagues in other disciplines, to NASA, to other agencies of the federal government, and to Congress.