• Anonymous


The first presentation of the newly approved Charles A. Whitten Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Research on the Form and Dynamics of the Earth and Planets was made to Charles A. Whitten at the 1985 Spring Meeting. In addition, the first presentation of the Harry H. Hess Medal for Outstanding Achievements in Research in the Constitution and Evolution of Earth and Sister Planets was made to Gerald J. Wasserburg at the 1985 Fall Meeting.

A full program of honors and awards recognizes AGU members and other outstanding geophysicists who make significant contributions to geophysical knowledge and understanding. In addition to the presentation of the medals and awards listed below, a select committee annually confers the designation of Fellow on AGU members who have distinguished themselves in geophysics.