Ocean Sciences Section objectives


  • Arnold L. Gordon


Earlier this year, I set up an ad hoc Objectives Committee for the AGU Ocean Sciences Section (OSS). This committee met and discussed two topics of growing concern to U.S. oceanographers: the schedule of AGU/OSS national meetings, and the future of The Oceanography Report (TOR) in Eos.

The committee members present for the discussion were the current OSS section officers, President Arnold Gordon, President-Elect Barbara Hickey, and Secretary Rana Fine; past OSS presidents Chris Mooers and Worth Nowlin, Jr.; TOR Editor David Brooks; American Society of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO) President Richard Barber; and invited members Melbourne Briscoe and Constance Sancetta. Past OSS presidents Joe Reid and James O'Brien were unable to attend the meeting. AGU headquarters (Washington, D.C.) was represented at the meeting by William Sackett, who was the 1986–1987 Richard Montgomery Field Fellow.