Fall 1987 GP Student Awards


  • Anonymous


Awards for the best oral student papers at the 1987 AGU Fall Meeting were given to Nancy Butterworth (University of Utah, Salt Lake City) and David Schneider (Lamont-Doherty Geological Observatory (LDGO), Palisades, N.Y.). Butterworth's paper, “CSAMT Responses of Three-dimensional Bodies,” was presented in the December 8 (Tuesday) morning session “Crustal Magnetic Anomalies and Conductivity Structure.” Her paper was coauthored by Gerald Hohmann (University of Utah). Schneider's talk, “Inclination Anomalies from Equatorial Deep-sea Cores and Axial Symmetry of the Time-Averaged Field” was given in the “Paleomagnetic Field True Polar Wander” session that afternoon. Dennis Kent (LDGO) was the coauthor. The awards were determined by a committee composed of Laurie Brown (University of Massachusetts, Amherst), Steve Lund (University of Southern California, Los Angeles), and Jim Heirtzler (National Aeronautics and Space Administration/Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.).