Horton and Ewing Medalists


  • Anonymous


AGU has announced the recipients of the 1988 Robert E. Horton and Maurice Ewing medals. The recipient of the Robert E. Horton Medal for outstanding contributions to the geophysical aspects of hydrology will be Peter S. Eagleson of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Eagleson is the immediate Past-President of AGU.

The recipient of the Maurice Ewing Medal for significant original contributions to understanding physical, geophysical, and geological processes in the ocean; and/or significant original contributions to scientific ocean engineering, technology, and instrumentation; and/or outstanding service to marine sciences is Wolfgang H. Berger of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. The medal is presented jointly by the U.S Navy and AGU.