The National Academy of Sciences elected 60 new members and 14 foreign associates April 25.

Five new members are geophysists and geologists: William A. Berggren, senior scientist at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Massachusetts; Stephen J. Gould, professor of geology and Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology at Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.; Warren B. Hamilton, research geologist at the U.S. Geological Survey, Denver, Colo.; Peter Meyer, professor at the Enrico Fermi Institute for Nuclear Studies and chairman of the Department of Physics, University of Chicago, Illinois; and John G. Sclater, Shell Distinguished Professor of Geophysics and associate director of the Institute of Geophysics, University of Texas, Austin.